The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian a company that manufactures men s clothing Five years ago at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric we discontinued production of

In his memo, the new vice president of Sartorian councels the clothing company to resume production of alpaca overcoats, which were discontinued five years prior. He rationalizes his advice by pointing to a new wool supplier, the paucity of alpaca overcoats on the market over the previous five years, and the increase in retail prices for clothing over that same time period. While it is plausible that the vice president's suggestion might ultimately prove wise, he should adduce three pieces of additional evidence in order to bolster the validity of his argument and convince Sartorian to adopt his proposal.

Firstly, the vice president should provide evidence that Sartorian's new fabric supplier has the capacity to reliably provide enough high quality wool to meet manufacturing demands. If for instance, the new supplier can only produce enough wool to meet the manufacturing requirements for, say, twenty alpaca overcoats per year, then perhaps it would not be wise for Sartorian to invest in the marketing and distribution of such a miniscule market. Similarly, if the wool from the new supplier is of grossly inferior quality to Sartorian's former supplier's wool, then, no matter the quantity wool, it could result in a product that may not live up to the expectations of customers. Without details regarding the quality and quantity of wool available from the new fabric supplier, the vice president's assertion that Sartorian ought to resume alpaca overcoat production remains weak.

Additionally, the vice president ought to prove that customer demand for alpaca overcoats remains high. Perhaps clothing trends have greatly fluctuated since Sartorian last sold alpaca overcoats. If customers now perceive them as unfashionable, then it would be unwise for Sartorian to reintroduce them to market. This could explain why the company's major competitor ceased manufacturing alpaca overcoats.

Furthermore, the vice president needs to present evidence that customers will, in fact, be willing to spend more money on alpaca overcoats than they were five years prior. Just because "most" clothing prices have increased, does not necessarily equate to customer willingness to pay more for alpaca overcoats specifically.

To conclude, while it is possible that the vice president is wise to suggest that Sartorian produce alpaca overcoats once again, his argument, as it stands now, remains weak. He could increase the cogency of his plan by providing the additional evidence outlined above.