The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses Last year however all of the five

In the memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located in Unites States it is suggested to discontinue import of cheese and focus primarily on domestic cheeses. The author has come to such a conclusion based on findings of a recent survey and the current market trend for cheese. However, while the claim drawn in the argument might ultimately prove valid, the author needs to provide three crucial pieces of evidence to bolster its validity.

First of all, evidence regarding the details of the survey is needed. Perhaps, the survey was not conducted properly and participants of the survey might be in small number or were from same locations where domestic cheese is dominant in consumption and it may not be the case for other regions of the United States. Further, the increasing preference for domestic cheese maybe because of other reasons like need to refrigerate imported cheese which might be not needed for domestic cheese. If the above scenarios hold merits, then the conclusion drawn by the author does not hold water.

Second of all, evidence regarding the profits and bestselling cheese products for other stores needs to be provided. It is possible that other stores can have imported cheese as their best seller and most of the profit for that particular store is coming from imported cheese. Further the preference of domestic cheese in the Wisconsin store can be due to availability of fresh milk from the cattle farms in the region due to which domestic cheese provides utmost quality and hence all of the best five selling cheeses are domestic cheddar cheeses. If the above cases are true the suggestion to discontinue imported cheese is not pragmatic.

Finally, the evidence regarding the imported cheese are needed. It can be possible that the quality control of these is not so stringent because of which cheese with bad quality and pungent smell may be observed and hence customer trust on these products is lost. Furthermore, it is also possible that there is some fault in the transportation of imported cheese, like more temperature than recommended in the vehicle in which it is been transported which is causing its reducing quality. If the evidence for the above is provided accordingly actions can be taken and there will be no need to discontinue stocking imported cheese from the stores.

Although the author may not be evaluating the given condition in its entirety the conclusion and information associated with it cannot be written off either. There is no smoke without fire and the author must have had compelling reasons to make such a strong conclusion, however, since the reasons have not been mentioned here, the argument as it stands cannot be said holistic. More evidence is needed to make the given argument stronger.