The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes."A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes

In this memo the president of Bower Buliders plans to increase the size of family rooms and kitchens in all the homes they build and decorate the kitchens with a state-of-the-art style as a standard feature. To support his plan. he cites the national survey which shows the people the reference on kitchens and family rooms.Also, their competitor had succeced in doing so. While the plan is problematic because there are some loopholes in this statement, we should evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, let's dig into this national survey. Due to the description by th author ,I think the Bower Builders is not a natonwide company, thus they should focus on the local market instead of the national case. Hence there is no obvious relevance between the plan and the national survey. Maybe the local people would not like the national fashion instead of other styles like big bedrooms. In this way, as I suggest that the president should make local survey to find out the people's favor.

However, the competitor Domus succeced in making the such features and their selling price is much higher than the national average. I belive the president should not hurry to copy their experince. Firstly, there are many kinds of homes, condles, apartments, houses,for example. To me, it is possible for a house to have a big family rooms and large beautiful kitchens, it make sense because of the place is spacious. While the president should consider whether the home they will build is suitable for these features. If they build a condle for single person, I belive there is no necessary to build a big family room. Moreover, maybe the local people do not like the glamous decroration of kitchen, simplicity, instead, may be their desire for their home. Secondly, the national average is not a criterion for the local market. As we discussed, the president should compare the local average price with the competitor's to find out whether these features work.

In addition, the president notes that the dinning room should not appear because the recent buyers do not like the separate dinning rooms. This suggestion is not convincing in that we do not know how much of these recent buyers take in part of all the recent buyers. May be only a few people do not like dinning room while most of them conceive of this room is essential for their homes. To support this idea, the president should make clear the ratio we mentioned above. Moreover, he should not neglect the space of the room they are about to build which are not spacious enough for the dining room.

In conclusion, the president plan is not well supported by his evidence. To support his idea, he should focus on the local market instead of the national data. Firstly, he should make clear what kinds of homes they are to build. Secondly, he should figur out the local people's favor in different homes, like condles,apartments, single houses. Thirdly, he should make more effective plans to make more profits and sales related to various kind of people like families or single persons in that their demands are very different.