The following appeared in a memo from the president of Viva-Tech, a manufacturer of high-tech medical equipment.

"In order to reduce costs, we should close some of our existing small assembly plants and build a large central plant. Grandview would be an ideal location for this new plant. First, of all the locations that we have considered, Grandview has the largest adult population, so that we will be able to staff our plant quickly and easily. Secondly, since the average wages earned by workers in Grandview is less than that in the other locations, we should be able to keep production costs low. Last, as an inducement for us to build there, Grandview's town council has offered to allow us to operate for the first three years without paying city taxes."

The president of Viva-Tech claims that to reduce the production cost for the high tech medical equipments, the company should replace some of the small assembly plants with a large central plant and cites that the town of Grandview will be an ideal location to set up the plant. The author's conclusion may not necessarily be correct, because it is arrived at, by a line of reasoning that stands on certain baseless assumptions, which if not warranted will render the conclusion baseless.

First of all the president readily assumes that since the town of Grandview has the largest adult population, it will be able to staff the plant quickly and easily. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground. It does not provide information about the prerequisite relevant skillset of the staff required in the setup and operation phase of the plants. It is likely that the town of Grandview is known for their agro industries and has most of the adult population without any technical knowledge necessary to work in a high-tech equipment manufacturing plant. This incompleteness adds ambiguity to the argument.

Futhermore, the president demonstrates only a partial a correlation between setting up a large plant in the town of Grandview and keeping the production costs low. Though low wages for the workers will help in reducing the operating costs of the plant, the president does not provide necessary details about any other factor responsible such as a change in the transportaion cost. If the town of Grandview is remote to most of the places in the country or does not have any proper road or railway connectivity for commute, it may ultimately lead to an increase in the basic transportaion cost for both, procurement and delivery of products by the company. This will render the efforts of keeping production costs low ineffective.

Finally, the president cites that Grandview's town council has offered to operate for the first three years without paying city taxes. However, a careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion. The author fails to recognize the implications of taxation in the production costs post three years of opertation of the plant.

Though there are several issues with the president's reasoning at present, with research and clarification, he could improve his argument significantly. Had the president provided more clear evidemce, perhaps by ways of a reliable survey or detailed stastistical analysis, the argument could have been strengthened even further.

In sum, because of the above reasons, we could conclude that the president's position is prone to acute questioning and hence open to debate.