The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing."During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour

In the preceding argument, the author states Alta factory has to decrease the working hours in order to mitigate on-the-job accidents, the conclusion of the argument is based on the following premises. Firstly, the author bolsters his claim by mentioning the nearby Panoply factory, and their success in decreasing the accident numbers. Secondly, he assumes by decrease working hours, the employees will be able to sleep more and get some rest. Hence, at the first glance it may seem plausible. However, a careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumptions that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the argument states that on-the-job accidents has increased to 30 percent and the direct cause is the lengthy working hours that end with worker's fatigue. but, the author readily has assumed the cause. In deed, to be more convincing several question would be answered. Firstly, we would need to know how did he know the direct cause of the accidents? It might be due to lack of experience or low level of facilities. But more than this we would need to know is it the 30 percent a significant number indicates high level of accidents. In other words, does it reflect alarming rate? Therefore, no thing toward bolsters the assumption. And in order to strengthen it the author has to answer these questions precisely.

Secondly, the author assumes that the two factories are the same and what works with Panoply factory is mandatory will work with the Alta company. But it could differ in myriad factors such as what is the Panoply field of work? It might be a safe field and no need to restrict safety measures, further what about their workers number is it the same? Also, we do not have complete information to reflect their success on the Alta company. Consequently, the sources of difference it could be the cause of their success. hence, the argument is without basis and to boost his case he has to provide more information.

Thirdly, the fallacy of the argument also lies in assuming that by decreasing the work hours the workers will take a rest and sleep more, but this assumption is not plausible because may will enable them to do more activities and will impact the situation in negative way. Thus, the author has to think in better ways how decrease the accidents rate, perhaps by doing more workshops or teaching them the safety precautions.

In conclusion, the argument fails to mention one key factor. Namely, all the previous assumption are equivocal. Hence, without complete information the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.