The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

In the given memo, the writer suggests that the new construction of all the access roads should be given to the Appian Road Construction Company. To strengthen his recommendation, he states that the quality of construction is good of the Appian Road Construction Company than Good Intention Roadway Company. At first glance, however, the recommendation seems plausible and valid, but, close scrutinization would reveal that the given recommendation is unsound and unconvincing.

To begin with, the writer claims that the work of Good Intention Roadway Company is very bad. The constructed roads have so many potholes and are badly cracked that the maintenance cost is very high. But the roads which are constructed by Appian Company have no such problems of potholes and cracks. So that the company vice president recommends to give the contract to the Appian Company. However, the vice president's decision is very hasty. He fails to compare many other things before recommending other company. The argument would be sound if he provides the other information about construction techniques, the materials used, the geographical location, the traffics and law enforcement to prevent heavy loading and speeding.

What is more, the writer claims that the roads which constructed by Appian Company are more durable than road constructed by Good Intention Company. However, he fails to answer the questions whether the location of these two road areas is comparable. It may be possible that these two areas are completely different with respect in location: one may be in the hilly area and another may be in the core city which makes these Appian constructed roads more vulnerable to crack and potholes. He also doesn't mention that the construction material used in the construction of roads which are also the main reason why these problems arise. Durability and reliability of road greatly depend upon the material used which he doesn't mention here which makes his argument unsound.

Additionally, the writer also believes that the new manager and the so-called newly purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery will make the will make the construction of roads structurally sound. However, it is not guaranteed about that claim. Perhaps, the newly purchased machine will not work properly. If the new manager may be corrupted, the quality of roads will decrease. Hence, by decreasing the durability of the road and thereby ultimately increasing the maintenance cost and maintenance period.

In sum, the argument is not sound and convincing as the argument fails to answer the following questions: is the workability and reliability of newly purchased machine check? Can the manager manage his work properly and efficiently? Are the same working techniques used to construct road as the Appian Company used before four years ago? If the argument could answer these above-mentioned questions, then, the argument would be sound and convincing.