The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The vice president of a corporation that sets up shopping malls across the country advocates hiring Appian Roadways as the contractor for constructing access roads to the new shopping malls being constructed. In support of this statement, the vice president presents examples of how Appian Roadways has paved Route 40 more than 4 years ago which is still in good condition. On the other hand, Route 101 paved by another firm, Good Intentions Roadways, barely 2 years ago is already damaged. Looking at this analysis carefully we see that it is not watertight and that a better analysis must be performed before reaching conclusions. The following are a few concerns regarding the recommendation given.

The vice president while analysing the two firms states makes an implicit assumption that Route 101 and Route 40 are comparable. Indeed, the fact that Route 101 became cracked within 2 years of its construction could be due to a number of factors. For instance, the region may have seen harsher climatic conditions, such as heavy storms and rain or a greater variation in temperature leading to continued contraction and expansion of the road surface. The traffic along Route 101 may be greater as compared to Route 40 leading to greater stress on the road surface. Hence we cannot state conclusively that Appian Roadways is a better road construction firm simply based on the conditions of two different highways and without any other corroborative evidence. Questions need to be asked regarding whether the highways face similar weather conditions or traffic flows. Also, a larger sample size of highways for comparison would help.

The second point made is that Appian Roadways has purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager, with an assumption that it would enhance the quality of output. This inference is questionable since it does not answer questions regarding how competent the new quality-control manager is. Indeed his qualifications and abilities must be considered before viewing this point positively. Also, any machinery is only as good as the contractors who operate it. Hence, the actual, on-ground advantage that this machinery gives must be scrutinized carefully. Also, the final conclusion is drawn with regards to paving access roads to shopping malls. The technology required for this use case may be markedly different for other cases, for instance, highways. Hence whether the new machinery would lead to an enhanced quality of construction for access roads is questionable.

This leads to the last point which must be scrutinized before any concrete conclusions can be reached. The vice president concludes that Appian Roadways' ability for constructing good quality highways also percolates into the ability to construct access roads. Though there is a certain degree of correlation between the two, this conclusion may be imprecise. Indeed the technologies required to construct highways may be different from access roads. Some skills required by employees (such as quality control managers, technicians and engineers) for a such a job may be somewhat orthogonal to highway construction. One possible reason for this is that the two environments differ considerably. The highway routes may be in predominantly rural areas while access roads for shopping malls are in a primarily urban landscape.

Considering the above points raised we note the analysis falls short in certain aspects when it concludes that Appian Roadways must be hired for paving access roads. A better study of the capabilities of Appian Roadways viz-a-viz their urban construction abilities needs to be performed before this conclusion can be reached.