The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities contends that the difference between the Buzzoff Pest Control Company and the Fly-Away Pest Control Company in pest damage shows negligence of Fly-Away. While $20,000 worth of food had been destroyed by pest damage in Palm City under the control of Fly-Away, only $10,000 worth of food had been destroyed by pest damage in Wintervale under the control of Buzzoff. Although the claim of the vice president seems logical, there are several logical fallacies and misconstrue which the president is making.

First, the vice president neglected the possibility of different initial food at each city. To elaborate, in the view of Palm City extensively bigger city than Wintervale, food storage warehouse located in Palm City contains more food than the one located in Wintervale. For instance, the food initially stored in Palm City worth 10 million dollars and the other worth 1 million dollars, despite of more loss in Palm City, it must be estimated as Fly-Away did a better job. Also, There could be different kinds of food in each warehouses. It is possible that food in Palm City is more alluring to the pest than the food in Wintervale. To verify the statement, the vice president must explain whether the initial condition of food is same comparing two cities.

Second, the memo fails to demonstrate the previous data of Fly-Away, providing pest control services in Palm City. In the view of the memo mentioning “recently”, it is possible the Fly-Away was hired for months. If the Fly-Away made no damage for 6 months and last month was the first time they accidentally give the damage to food distribution company, concluding as there was short-term shortage this month would be more acceptable than just neglecting the Fly-Away. The vice president must provide the data whether Fly-Away started its job last month and if not, one must provide whether Fly-Away was making similar damage to the company continuously to make the contention reasonable.

Also, previous data of Buzzoff is not described on the memo, failing the soundness of the claim. The memo described that Buzzoff worked many years in Palm City, but it is not mentioned whether their job in Palm City was better than Fly-Away. It is possible that Buzzoff was moved to Wintervale because their productivity was objectively not good. Not knowing whether their job in Palm City was good, comparison with Fly-Away is meaningless. To authenticate the assessment, the vice president must explain whether apparent better productivity of Buzzoff is true by providing the data of Palm City.

Finally, the possibility of different conditions of the cities fails to support the statement. To elaborate, if the Wintervale is located in more higher latitude, Wintervale would be colder in average, making more resistant to the pest. As a result, the damage would be less critical than Palm City’s. The vice president must proclaim, there are no difference influencing the pest damage between the cities to secure the validity of the announcement.