The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large highly diversified company Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions The buildings were erected by two different

The vice president of the company made a recommendation to use Alpha construction company over Zeta construction company to build new projects. While the vice president's recommendation might hold water, it is based on some assumptions which, if proved wrong, will seriously weaken the argument. To evaluate the argument properly, the following concerns should be addressed.

First, it is not mentioned in the argument what materials were used by the two companies to build those buildings. It is possible that Zeta used premium materials that would give the building more strength and a better look and feel. On the other hand, Alpha may have used normal materials that do not guarantee long-lasting. If this is the case, simply comparing the building cost without analyzing the materials used would seriously weaken the argument.

Second, it is unclear how long it took for both companies to build those identical buildings. It is possible that Zeta used the latest technologies to build the structure which helped them to complete the construction within a short time which also incurred more cost. On the other hand, Alpha may have used traditional methods to build the structure which led them to take more time to complete the construction but saved money. It should be mentioned in the memo which one the Vice President of the company prefers between time and money. If they do not care about how long the companies take to build a building and only care about saving money, then choosing Alpha over Zeta could be a good one. However, if the vice president prefers to have the construction completed within a short time, he should choose a constructor who is efficient. Selecting a constructor based on how much they spend without analyzing their methods and value for money would weaken the argument.

Third, it is mentioned that the maintenance cost in the Zeta building was twice of the Alpha one. However, it is not clear how well both buildings were maintained. It is possible that Zeta buildings were maintained well. All of the materials such as air conditioner, lifts, etc were taken care of regularly there were no defects which incurred more cost. On the other hand, the alpha building may not have been maintained well. Since the materials were not maintained and taken care of properly, they did not work properly. simply looking at the maintenance cost without looking at the performance of the building may lead to a weak argument.

Fourth, it is important to know to what extent the building built by zeta was used to consume more energy than the building by alpha. It is possible that more people work in the building made by zeta than in alpha. It is also possible that people work in the building made by zeta for longer hours than people who work in the building made by alpha. All these could result in higher energy consumption. Choosing a construction company based on the energy consumption of one building would weaken the argument.

Finally, the argument only compares one building made by alpha with another building made by zeta. It is possible that zeta cost more for that single building but usually spends less to build buildings. It is also possible that buildings made by zeta usually incur less cost but that one building was an exception. Moreover, buildings made by zeta may consume less energy usually but it was different for that particular building. At the same time, opposite things may happen to the buildings made by Alpha. Recommending one constructor by observing only one building made by them and comparing them with another building will weaken the argument.

To conclude, the vice president may have presented a sound recommendation to select a builder. However, more data is required to reach a firm conclusion. If the vice president addresses and analyzes the mentioned concerns, the argument can be properly evaluated.