The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura Socks Inc quot A recent study of Dura Socks customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process which ensures that

In this memo, the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks, Inc. suggests that the company’s patented Endure manufacturing process is a waste of money and the company can increase its profits by discontinuing use of this process. To substantiate his argument, the vice president refers to a recent study of Dura-Socks customers to prove the weak demand of the long durability of their products. Reasonable might it sound, several questions need to be answered to evaluate the feasibility of the vice president’s strategy.

First and foremost, the vice president attempts to show the useless of the Endure manufacturing process by mentioning the survey result which shows that customers purchase new Dura-Socks every three months, a time period much shorter that the two-year durability of the product. Leave aside whether the survey is convincing or not, does customers' purchase of new Dura-Socks necessarily indicate their disposal of old Dura-Socks? Chances are that they continue to use the old socks up to the two-year durability, and the frequent purchasing rate is just a sign of their favor of the products. If this scenario holds true, then the Endure manufacturing process actually matters to quite a lot to customers since it guarantees the durability of the product.

Secondly, are customers surveyed in northeastern United States cities typical enough to represent all customers? The supposition that Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors are features most valued by customers derives from information gathered on customers in this area. However, even if northeastern United States is the largest market of the company, there might well be a number of customers who deem Dura-Socks' durability as the most valuable. It’s possible that the vice president is making the mistake of over generalization in this aspect.

Last but not least, even if Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors are indeed the features most valued by all customers, the case could be the product’s durability being a qualifying factor rather than the determinant one. In other words, customers may no longer take Dura-Socks into account while shopping if they cease to be durable. In this condition, not only won’t discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process increase the company’s profits, but it may also result in a counter effect.

To sum up, the vice president’s suggestion, as it stands now, would be considerably lame if he is unable to answer the above questions with sound logic and solid evidence. Additional information is required concerning the actual demand for Dura-Socks’ durability, customers’ preference towards this feature and the reliability of the survey.