The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing claims that the Quiot should shorten the work shifts by one hour and suggests several reasons that upholds his/her claim. However, the memo is rife with holes and assumptions and such flaws needs to be eliminated in order to warrant the vice president's claim. The mistakes he/she made in the memo would be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the vice president reasons that experts stated that majority of the on-the-job accidents are due to fatigue and sleep deprivation and this would also be the case in Quiot Manufacturing. However, he/she needs to clarify exactly how many experts mentioned such statement. If there were only two to three experts among many experts, then such statement might be negligible enough. Furthermore, even if many on-the-job accidents are due to fatigue and sleep deprivation, this may not have been the reason why more on-the-job accidents occurred in Quiot Manufacturing than in Panoply Industries plant. There could be various factors that causes on-the-job accidents, such as lack of caution in using the machinery or heavy work-load. Especially, if lack of caution in using machinery was the reason why such on-the-job accidents occurred, then the vice president would prioritize in educating the workers about safety instead of reducing the work shift by one hour.

In addition, the vice president assumes that the cause of on-the-job accidents would be the same in Quiot Manufacturing as in Panoply Industries plant. However, the two places are resided in a different location and does not contain the same workers, which indicates that it has a high possibility that the causes of the on-the-job accidents might differ. Maybe heavy work-load is the cause of on-the-job accidents in Quiot Manufacturing, unlike Panoply Industries plant. If this is the case, then the vice president should first provide less amount of work to the workers before reducing their work shift by one hour. If the vice president wishes to use this evidence to bolster his/her claim, he/she would have to provide additional information about the causes of on-the-job accidents in both Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries plant.

Lastly, the author of the memo assumes that the productivity in Quiot Manufacturing is quite low due to multiple on-the-job accidents. However, maybe the reason more accidents occurred in Quiot Manufacturing compared to Panoply Industries plant because of heavy work-load. The workers might have had to manufacture much more products than the Panoply Industries in the same amount of time. Having multiple on-the-job accidents does not always indicate in low productivity, so the vice president would have to provide numerical information about the productivity in both Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries plant in order to use such evidence as proof of upholding his/her claim.

To sum up, even though the vice president's claim and the evidences that upholds such claim might seem plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the memo in various perspectives, it is confirmed that it the claim is unwarranted. In order for the vice president to effectively maintain his/her claim, he/she would have to eliminate the mistakes of providing obscure information and making haste assumptions.