As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Majority of the people are surrounded by technology such as cellphones, computers, and transportation these days. They are capable of providing assistance that no person can give, which makes us rely on it more and more as it continues to advance. I believe that relying on technology actually helps us to solve much more advance problems and does not inhibit the ability to think for ourselves.

First of all, using technology helps us to use our time more efficiently. For example, thanks to the advance in transportation, people waste much less time on commuting and also can spend their commute time being more productive than ever before. In the past, even short distances took days to transport because the fastest type of transportation was through horses. However, as subways and buses were presented, it now only takes a few hours, allowing people to work for longer hours. Also, using transportation enables people to think about themselves during the commute time or even complete tasks which would have been impossible in the past.

Furthermore, through technology such as cellphones and computers, people are able to access to multiple online courses such as Coursera. Without having to physically attend a school or having to have meet certain requirements, people can easily educate themselves whenever and wherever they wish. It helps people to constantly advance themselves which is hardly deteriorating.

Last but not least, technology may accomplish simple tasks which enables people to tackle much more complex tasks that may not have been available in the past. For example, past mathematicians had to spend most of their times calculating convoluted equations and algorithms to prove certain theories. If the theory was proven wrong or there was a miscalculation, they had to reiterate the arduous process again which is obviously a waste of time. However, because technology such as computers helps us calculate equations much more efficiently and more accurately, people can now tackle new problems without having to worry about all the complex calculating.

To sum up, technology such as transportation enhances people to spend less time on commuting and also use it more productively. Moreover, technologies such as computers and cellphones provides easy access in education and actually allows people to tackle more complex tasks. Due to such reasons, I believe that technology enhances humans to think for themselves instead of deteriorating.