The following appeared in a memorandum from the business department of the Apogee Company: "When the Apogee Company had all its operations in one location, it was more profitable than it is today. Therefore, the Apogee Company should close down its field offices and conduct all its operations from a single location. Such centralization would improve profitability by cutting costs and helping the company maintain better supervision of all employees."

In the argument, the author concludes that the Apogee Company can improve the profits by closing down other field offices to conduct its all operations in one. To strengthen the conclusion, the author points out the centralization will have more profits due to cut costs and maintain high equality in supervision. Nevertheless, it seems to conclude too fast without more considerations and adequate evidence.

First, the author asserts that the Apogee Company should close the field offices to conduct all operations to have more profits. However, without more evidence to strengthen the conclusion seems unfounded. For instance, to have the increasing profits may not due to the change of strategy to let all operations in one location. Many factors affect the profits, such as the type of the company, quality of the product, or the service of the company. The author needs to show more statistical numbers to evidence the relationship between the conduct operations in one location and the increasing profit to make sure the location is an important factor. Therefore, without more information will weaken the assumption.

Second, the author points out that centralization management will cut costs and maintain better supervision of employees. However, the conclusion is not convincing because different types of company suit different managements. For example, the convenience store will not manage in centralization due to it needs to have more locations to occupy the more markets. If the company manages the convenience store in centralization, each store needs to spend more expense and time to communicate between the central and outer. Therefore, fault management will affect the management a lot, so this assumption is not suitable.

In sum, the author’s conclusion that if the Apogee Company has increasing profits, the company should close down its field and change the management to centralization seems unfounded. To strengthen the assumption, the author needs to demonstrate more evidence to explore the relationship between the increased profits and type of operation, then compares which type of management suit the company.