The following appeared in a memorandum from the business department of the Apogee Company:

When the Apogee Company had all its operations in one location, it was more profitable than it is today. Therefore, the Apogee Company should close down its field offices and conduct all its operations from a single location. Such centralization would improve profitability by cutting costs and helping the company maintains better supervision of all employees.

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument states that Apogee Company must close down its field offices and conduct all its operation from a single location to improve profitability and maintain better supervision of all employees. This argument may seem convincing but it is seriously flawed due to several assumptions based on the premise of the argument.

Firstly the argument assumes that operating a company from one location leads to more profitability by cutting costs and helps a company to have better supervision of all employees. While this may be true for small business firms but it will seriously impact the local clients and their business of the Apogee Company at their field regions. The author does not state the exact reason for less profitability of the Apogee Company. It may be due to recession or workers strike or may be unforeseen events such as floods, earthquake that may lead to increase in the operation cost of the business and thereby reducing the profit. There can be other reasons for increase in operation costs such as the launch of new product in the foreign market whose sales has not just started yet or market research, surveys. Different markets in different parts of the world has different behaviour based on the culture, religion and economic conditions. Certainly

The second issue in the argument lies in the cost-benefit analysis. The business department has failed to explicitly mention that whether proper pros and cons were considered in the cost sheet. Initially, the cost benefit may seem to be high. Local field offices would have been much effective in handling local customers and vendors. If centralization of the company is adopted, then the employers have to travel for longer distances for business meetings, for providing services to the customers or for inspection at manufacturer’s works .Certainly, the cost will be higher and thus minimizing the profits as expected initially. The business development’s premises, the basis for their argument, lack any legitimate evidentiary support and render their conclusion as unacceptable.

In sum, the argument is not compelling because it omitted many other factors that must be addressed to make proper conclusion. If the business development truly hopes to change its readers’ mind on the issue, they would have to largely restructure their argument, fix the flaws in their logic, clearly explicate their assumptions, and provide evidentiary support. Without, all these things, their poorly reasoned argument will likely convince few people.