The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of WWAC radio station claims that they should change the current rock-music format to news and talk format, and suggests several reasons that seem to uphold the author's claim. However, the memorandum is rife with holes and assumptions, which need to be eliminated in order for the author to maintain his/her claim with clear warrant. Such flaws will be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the manager reasons that the decline in listeners occurred even though the population grew. He/she also assumes that the main cause of the population growth, people who retired, must not enjoy rock-music format. For the population growth, there is a possibility that the population actually decreased but is simply not exposed on the numerical amounts. Maybe the teenagers who were the main listeners of the radio became college students and had to move to other areas. Such alteration would not have altered the total population, which might have made it seem as if the population grew than before. Moreover, people who retired may actually enjoy rock-music but does not favor listening to radios. Maybe they spend most of their time watching television shows because it is visually more satisfying than radios. They could actually be viewing rock-music festivals on televisions, which indicates that they actually favor rock-music. The author should not make a haste assumption that people who are seniors must not favor rock-music.

Furthermore, the author would have to clarify how much the population grew. If only two to three people increased than before among millions of residents, then the amount would be negligible enough. He/she needs to clarify for how long the decline has occurred despite an increase in the population. If it has only been a month, then maybe majority of the residents went on a vacation and did not have enough time to listen to the radio.

Last but not least, the manager asseverates that the public must have limited interest in music because the local sales of recorded music declined. However, as the technology constantly advances, there is a high possibility that people moved on to online music platforms instead of going through a cumbersome process of purchasing records. Maybe, people are listening to much more diverse music than before, due to easy access, while having to purchase records forestall them in trying different types of music. This certainly does not indicate that people have a limited taste in music. Moreover, if this is the case, then the author claiming that the radio station should change to news and talk format would not be a germane solution. He/she would have to expand their business in providing radio programs online.

To sum up, even though the manager's claim does seems plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the memorandum from various points of view, it is confirmed that the author's claim is clearly unwarranted. In order for the author do uphold his claim, he/she would have to eliminate the flaws of making haste assumptions, providing lack of clear and substantial information, and lack of thorough investigation.