The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station To reverse a decline in listener numbers our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock music format The decline has occurred despite population growth in o

According to the manager of WWAC radio station, WWAC should change to a news and talk format from current rock-music format to attract new residents in order to increase overall listener numbers. That’s because the population growth is due to new residents and the low local sales of music suggests that people in the area have little interest in music. However, to assess the argument, we need more critical evidence about the demographic structure and local people’s real attitudes towards music and the news and talk format.

It is assumed that the growth in population is mainly due to people moving here after their retirement. But we still need more evidence about the demographic structure. Maybe most of local residents are still born in the area and not retired. And perhaps these people didn’t listen to the radio before the population growth due to the lack of interest or the low quality of radio programs. In that case, the company should focus on attracting these people by improving the programs instead of changing to a new format with the danger of losing current listeners. If it is clear that new residents account for a large proportion of the whole population in the area, it would be reasonable to pay attention to make listeners of these new residents.

We also need to investigate people’s attitudes towards music. It is suggested that the low local sales of recorded music means people’s little interest in music. Maybe people tend to use the internet or the TVs to listen to music, or perhaps they prefer to go to concerts to enjoy live music. There are many ways for people to listen to good music, so it is not reasonable to assume their limited interest in music because of the sales. If it is proved that people still love music in many other ways, it would not be necessary to change to a new format.

We still need evidence about residents’ interest in the news and talk format. Because the radio is different from televisions and computers, maybe people prefer to get information of the news on TVs instead of radio programs. And they may believe that pictures and other forms of information that couldn’t be showed on a radio program very important, so the popularity of TV programs in the format doesn’t mean the success will happen to radio programs. In addition, we need some related research to prove the popularity of this format. If the popularity is flawed, the argument would not hold.

In conclusion, we still need more evidence about the issues mentioned above to assess the argument critically. Without more evidence, the argument now is not strong enough.