Claim The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models Reason Heroes and role models reveal a society s highest ideals

In order to understand the highest ideals of a society, some people believe that the best way is to investigate the character of its chosen heroes or role models because these people can reveal the merits that pursued by the whole society. While I agree that heroes and role models can reflect the characteristics which pursued by the society, I believe that it might be unreasonable to learn a whole society through its heroes and role models because of three reasons.

To begin with, heroes and role models indeed reflect the merits needed by the society because they are chosen by the whole society. For example, in China, every year there are some role models chosen by the governments to promote their characteristics. They are usually friendly and devote themselves to solving others’ lives or significant problems. These heroes and role models do play an important role in revealing a society’s idealistic characteristics and telling young people to learn from them. In that case, studying and learning the features of heroes can really help a person to investigate the highest ideals of a society.

However, just focusing on heroes and role models may be misleading because governments may choose specific heroes to promote governments’ political pursuit. Think about the heroes chosen by China’s government, they usually lose their lives because of helping others or achieving their tasks set by governments. It is true that they are brave, but it may be unreasonable to think that the whole society has the same character. Heroes and role models may be used to influence the public opinion about the nation and legitimize the governments. In that case, regarding heroes as a way to examine the nature of a whole society may be a bad choice.

In addition, in a society, the proportion of heroes is quite small and most citizens are ordinary people who lack the ideal characteristics. Maybe a society regard tolerance as a merit, but many people in the society might be not tolerant at all. The highest ideals of a society can’t correctly reflect the real character of the society. There is a possibility that the heroes are chosen because of the lack of such characteristic in the society. Thus, to understand the character of a society, just focusing on its role models may be a unreasonable decision.

In conclusion, while I agree that heroes do reveal the highest ideals of a society, I disagree with the claim that we can understand the nature of a society through these heroes and role models because of the reasons mentioned above.