The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author's argument that the decline of listeners of WWAC radio station can be stopped by replacing the current music genre with other kinds is flawed. In the argument, the author not only draws a conclusion based on untested assumptions, but also uses insufficient evidences and data to make sweeping generalization. Furthermore, the author made mistake of focusing solely on the demand for music listeners while ignoring the supply of radio stations that might also boom with the increase of local population.

To begin, the conclusion is based largely on the perception that the old generation of the town prefers folk or country to rock music and the author spends a lot of time trying to underline this. In doing so, the author fails to provide evidence, possibly a questionnaire that filled by a representative population of the town to support this assumption. Although people may be shadowed under the perception that old people may have a preference on music taste where quite and classical music are more popular than rock and roll or pop music, there is not evidence or statistic shows that this stereotype is also valid in WWAC listening area. There is also a possibility that old people are more likely to enjoy a sound-free environment than playing music at all. and thus there is nothing any music-playing radio station can do at all. Therefore, this underlying assumption is unwarranted and invalid to make conclusion that switching the music format providing to the listeners will significantly increase the number of listeners.

Moreover, the author ignores the competition among radio stations that might also lead to the decline of the number of listeners of WWAC. In other words, the supply of radio stations may not match the demand of this service proportionally. It is possible that, while the population in town grew 10 percent, the local radio channels has also increased by 20 percent. As a result of this competition, all radio channels including WWAC may have been facing the decline of listeners. In addition, the decrease of radio listeners may also be caused by other format of entertainment that becomes more and more popular nowadays, such as TV shows or the presence of internet musical channels or the convenience of downloading music. Consequently, the change of musical format that WWAC supplies may not resulting in a perceptible increase of its popularity.

The argument could be strengthened that if WWAC channel made an investigation of the music preference to local residents and had solid statistics or evidence to support the view that newly moved in people has a strong inclination of listening to a certain kind of music. The argument can be further strengthened if the author were to find out the current market and competition among local entertainment business. As it stands, however, the argument is week and invalid as indicated above.