The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station."WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The p

The manager claims that it is necessary for WWAC radio station to change its present rock-music format since the number of listeners are declining. However, this argument is too weak to be convincing because it is based on fallacious causality. Stated in this way, the argument reveals leap of faith and poor reasoning. It also fails to mention several key factors based on which it could be evaluated.

Firstly, the manager claims that change of the current rock-music format is important because number of listener is declining. However, this does not necessarily mean that the entire population is actually not interested in music. What we need to know is what is the timing for the rock-music format or what type of songs are being played. The radio station might be playing songs repetitively, which will anyway reduce the number of listeners. Also, the radio station might have changed the timing recently. Probably, the new timing does not suit to the daily routine of the population of the town. In this case, replacing rock-music format with new-and-talk will not fetch a large listener base for the radio station.

Secondly, the manager claimed that the retired population, who oincreased the popu seem to have no interest in music because local music shops selling recorded music have closed down. This assumption is rather based on a imagination than some valid survey statistics. The manager cannot really assume that the shops closed down because the retired population do not have interest in music. The shops might have relocated to different parts or the piracy took a toll on their business. Presently, people have access to music on digital platforms and radio and they prefer to listen music over internet or radio. In this scenario the manager's claim would be proved wrong.

Thirdly, the manager is seen to be looking for alternative solution instead of looking into their own services. The manager should first take a look on his or her own show and determine if it is anymore interesting at all. Probably the radio jockeys, who used to entertain in between the rock-music format, have been replaced and the new recruited radio jockeys are not at par. Hence, WWAC radio station must analyse their own services first before deciding on an alternative solution.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons. It could have been strengthened to an extent if the manager provided enough evidence and statistics to support his or her assumption. Without the answers to these questions and evidences, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.