‘The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.’

The author of this passage concludes that implementing the changes made at the downtown movies galore store will have the same effect on the other nine movies galore stores if the same changes are applied. Stated in this way, this argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and manipulating of facts. To justify this argument, the author recommends that

To begin, the argument readily assumes that all of their other nine stores are similar in production to the downtown store. this is merely and assumption made without solid ground and evidence. For example, their downtown store could get a wide variety of customers and only at specific times of the day. The costumers at the downtown store could also have different preferences than the costumers at any of the other nine stores. Hence, the argument would have been more convincing if there were statistics of what costumers purchased at each store and a timetable of arrivals.

Secondly, the author also points out that the downtown store decreased its operating costs by implementing some of theses changes. this again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate a clear correlation between A and B. Furthermore, who is to say all nine stores have the same operating cost? Maybe some of the store are bigger than the others, or they are in different counties which costs more to own a building. Needless to say, the downtown store may have a lower operating cost than another store where it would need more of a profit to decrease its operating costs. if the argument had provided evidence of operating costs for all 10 stores, then it would have been a more convincing argument.

In conclusion, the authors argument is unpersuasive as it stands alone. To bolster it further, the author most provide more concrete evidence, perhaps statistics of their 10 stores to compare them. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about how the downtown movies galore store managed to implement those changes and decrease its operating costs.