The following appeared in a memorandum from the regional manager of the Taste of Italy restaurant chain After the first month of service the new restaurant in the Flatplains Mall which uses the Chipless brand of wine glasses has reported a far lower rate

The regional manager’s conclusion for switching all restaurants from Taste of Italy restaurant chain to the Chipless brand of Wine glasses feels extremely weak considering the inadequate data examples mentioned by him.

Firstly, the remark of breaking of glass is dependent on the type of wineglass, based on the inputs and suggestions from the Servers and Bartenders from all restaurants, is lacking the statistical evidence. If manager has given details in the form of percentages, bar charts, Pareto charts, etc., that would have strengthen the gathered data from servers and bartenders. The unavailability of these details leads to questioning the information for the number of restaurants in Taste of Italy restaurant chain, number of servers and bartenders interviewed and the timeline for this survey. With this, it is challenging to support Manager’s conclusion due to lack of evidence.

Also, the conclusion for switching all the restaurants to Chipless brand isn’t justifiable based on the supposedly concrete observations from Flatplains mall, because that mall has been open for service from one month only. The data for one month and from only one restaurant isn’t quite reliable to take decision like this. The rate of wine glass breaking depends on so many factors including the trained restaurant staff for the serving methods, rush hours, restaurant floor finishing, etc. There might be change in this trend post one month and so manager should consider monitoring the data for several months or several years.

Furthermore, the Customers’ liking for Chipless brand at Flatplains mall might have some unstated and unknown reasons. Perhaps, the Flatplains restaurant is located in the vicinity of many Multinational companies and the other restaurants might be located in suburbs. This changes the Customers preference and liking for the type of Wine glasses. Thereby, these things should be examined while concluding that what worked for the Flatplains restaurants would work for all restaurants.

Hence, the complete detailed and thorough data analysis from all the restaurants in the Taste of Italy restaurant chain, should be considered for concluding which types of glasses suits the best for each one.