The following appeared in a memorandum written by the assistant manager of a store that sells gourmet food items from various countries:

“A local wine store made an interesting discovery last month: it sold more French than Italian wine on days when it played recordings of French accordion music, but it sold more Italian than French wine on days when Italian songs were played. Therefore, I recommend that we put food specialties from one particular country on sale for a week at a time and play only music from that country while the sale is going on. By this means we will increase our profits in the same way that the wine store did, and we will be able to predict more precisely what items we should stock at any given time.”

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion, be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion. (used with permission from mba.com)

The assistant manager recommends that the food store play music of the country from which the food specialties that are on sale that week come in order to boost the store's profits. The fact that a local wine store sold more French wine than Italian wine when playing French music, and more Italian wine than French wine when playing Italian music, is used as support for why this recommendation will be successful. However, the argument as presented has several logical flaws. The author confuses correlation with causation and misunderstands the distinction between profits and sales. As such, the argument is unconvincing.

First, the author states that because the wine store sold more wine from a country when music from that same country was playing, it must be true that the music caused this increase in sales. This is a weak claim, and an example of the author mistaking a correlation for a causal relationship. This increase in sales for wines from each respective region could have been a complete coincidence - in which case no causal relationship would exist - or could have been due to another factor that the assistant manager does not consider. To illustrate, if, when more French wine was sold, wine from France was being sold at a discount to Italian wine, then this could very likely have caused the increase in sales. Without ruling out the many other possible explanations, the author's claim is weak and thus it is not likely that implementing a similar strategy in the food store would result in the same outcome that the wine store experienced.

The second issue to address is the fact that the assistant manager claims that, if the food store were to follow through with this recommendation, profits would increase. The only support that the author provides for this recommendation - albeit weak - is that the wine store's sales of one category of wine versus another were higher, but the author never states that profits were higher as a result. In making this logical leap, the assistant manager fails to consider the relative margin of certain products over others. If, for instance, a strategy would enable a store to sell twice as many of product X as it does product Y, but product Y's profit margin is 4 times higher than Product X's, this plan would likely not increase profits for the store in question. As such, without information about whether the local wine store saw both an increase in sales and profits, and without any details of the gourmet food store's profit margins on different products, this claim is weak and thus the store should not jump at following this recommendation.

Several additional pieces of information could have been included to make the assistant manager's recommendation more logically sound. For example, if the author were able to rule out all other alternative explanations for the increase in wine sales from each region at the local wine store - such as price differences or availability of inventory in store for each type of wine - then the existence of a causal relationship between music and sales would be much more likely. Further, information about how the wine store's profits were affected last month, as well as a study of relative profit margins for different food products from various countries, would help validate whether the food store is likely to see an increase in profit from implementing the recommended strategy.

In conclusion, the assistant manager's argument is weak as it is predicated on the existence of an unproven causal relationship and does not adequately distinguish between strategies that increase sales and those that increase profits. While it could be true that the recommendation will lead to the assistant manager's desired results, it is impossible to validate the claims made without additional evidence, such as the examples mentioned above. As such, the assistant manager's claim is weak and the recommendation should not be followed without further analysis.