The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material — which includes paper, plastic, and metal — should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Chairperson of west egg town council demands to increase the amount of recycled material such as paper, plastic and metal as charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. As according to his memorandum in past two year town’s residents has been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous year and according to survey made it is been concluded that 90 percent of people will do more recycling in feature. However, before this demand can properly evaluate, some question must be answer.

First of all, how efficient was your survey? Maybe survey which is made has done in small area with minimum number of people. However, what is the guaranty that people will not forget about survey in next three years? Maybe they will start doing what they used to do in previous year because three year is a big time to forget about small survey made for feature. Maybe population in our town will increase in coming years as it is developing area which will lead to increase in quantity in garbage. If this comes out to be true than garbage disposal land will soon get fill leading to many problems.

Secondly, what is the guaranty that people in town will continue doing twice as much material as they did in previous years? Maybe as population will increase people will forget about predication made of feeling of landfill which is used to garbage disposal will get fill. If this situation comes out to be true than amount of garbage will increase and that land may get fill within estimated time and if this happen people of West Egg Town will fall ill and some decease will born.

In conclusion, memorandum made by chairperson to West Egg Town council has some loop holes. Considering this loop holes it is difficult to consider his demand but if all the question is answered and more evidence is gather than his demand can be considered.