The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material — which includes paper, plastic, and metal — should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the memorandum concludes that the space in the West Egg's landfill would last longer than predicted because the town residents are strongly committed to recycling. The author suggests several evidences to justify such conclusion. While this conclusion may seem plausible, the memorandum is filled with holes and assumptions which will be discussed below.

First of all, the author assumes that if the charge of picking up other household garbage is doubled, more materials would be recycled. However, the causal effect of doubling the charge and the residents recycling more is unwarranted. There could be many reasons why residents have been throwing out the household materials as garbage instead of recycling might not have been due to low price of the pickup charge. Maybe the materials they have thrown out as garbage were not meant to be recycled. The residents simply could have not used much products that can produce materials that should be recycled. Or else, both the amount of garbage being thrown away and the amount of recycling may have been frivolous. For the author to use such evidence to uphold his/her claim, he/she would have to provide us a warranted casual relationship between the pickup charge and recycling.

Furthermore, the author makes a clear mistake of using an unvalidated survey result to advocate the conclusion of the memorandum. It is not clear how many respondents has responded to the survey. If only ten out of a thousand residents responded for the survey, then even though over 90 percent of the respondents agreed to recycle more, the result would be negligible. All the while, we do not know if the respondents represent the whole community of West Egg Town. The respondents who answered the survey could be relatives of the West Egg Town Council or are actually from the West Egg Town Council which would make the result of the survey highly unreliable because they are the ones who are most concerned with such issue. In addition, he/she has not mentioned how specific 'recent' is. The survey could have been closed even before the amount of recycling has increased. For the author to use the survey to buttress the conclusion of the memorandum, he/she would have to patent the validity of the survey such as whether the respondents of the survey could represent the whole community and specify the date when the survey has been held.

To sum up, the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council claims that because the town residents are strongly committed to recycling, the available space of the landfill would last longer than predicted. While it might seem justifiable, through thorough investigation and looking at the memorandum from different point of views, clearly there are enough flaws such as use of an invalid survey and the nebulous causal effect of the charge of pickup and recycling that makes the memorandum unwarranted. Such flaws would have to be eliminated for the author to justify his/her claim.