The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Nature's way,a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Previous experience has shown that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives.We should therefore build our next new store in Plainsville,which has many such residents.Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs.The local health club,which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business,has more members than ever,and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full.We can even anticipate a new generation of customers:Plainsville's school children are required to participate in a 'fitness for life' program,which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

In this memo the vice president of Nature's way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products recommends to establish a new store in Plainsville . The memorandum fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated.To justify this conclusion the vice president reasons that the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs, the local health club has more members and school children are required to participate in a 'fitness for life' program.However careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the vice president's recommendation.Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the good number of sales of exercise apparel do not necessarily indicate that Plainsville residents would be interested in Nature's way products or that the residents are interested in exercising.Perhaps exercise outfits might be fashionable at the moment, or inexpensive compared to the other types of clothing. For instance,all the youngsters these days mostly prefer exercise outfits rather than other types of clothing just because of the comfort they provide.There are many such strong instances that can be taken into consideration without which the vice president cannot convince me on the basis that the Plainsville residents are exercising regularly.

Secondly, even if exercise is more popular among Plainsville residents than ever before, the vice president assumes further that people who exercise regularly are also interested in buying health food and health-related products. Yet the memo contains no evidence to support this assumption. Lacking such evidence it is equally possible that aside from exercising Plainsville residents have little interest in leading a healthy lifestyle. In fact, perhaps as a result of regular exercise they believe they are sufficiently fit and healthy and do not need a healthy diet.

Thirdly, the popularity of the local health club is little indication that NW will earn a profit from a store in Plainsville. Perhaps club members live in an area of Plainsville nowhere near feasible sites for a NW store. Or perhaps the dub's primary appeal is as a singles meeting place, and that members actually have little interest in a healthy lifestyle. Besides, even if the club's members would patronize a NW store these members might be insufficient in number to ensure a profit for the store, especially considering that this health club is the only one in Plainsville.

Finally, even assuming that PlamesviUe residents are strongly interested in eating health foods and health-related products, the recommendation rests on two additional assumptions: (1) that this interest will continue in the foreseeable future, and (2) that Plainsville residents will prefer NW over other merchants that sell similar products. Until the vice president substantiates both assumptions I remain unconvinced that a NW store in Plainsville would be profitable.

In sum, the recommendation relies on certain doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands. To bolster the recommendation the vice president must provide dear evidence--perhaps by way of a local survey or study--that Plainsville residents who buy and wear exercise apparel, and especially the health club's members, do in fact exercise regularly, and that these exercisers are likely to buy health foods and health related products at a NW store. To better assess the recommendation, I would need to know why Plainsville's health club is nonular, and why Plainsville does not contain more health clubs. I would also need to know what competition NW might face in Plainsville.