The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors:

“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

This newsletter offers advice to investors in a difficult situation. In this case, the investors must decide on investing in a monopolized market. However, they are unwilling to switch exactly because the current provider monopolized the market. At the same time, if the clients are to invest in an alternative provider, namely Techcorporation, we need to know more about this alternative provider and who exactly these advisers are.

The argument implies that Techcorportation offers something new in its satellite technology that the current satellite provider does not. However, the newsletter only states that there is "a company that has developed satellite technology [that] has been approved by the FTA"; it makes no other statements regarding what makes the technology unique or distinctive. In order to feel compelled that Techcorporation's technology is better, we need to know what exactly it offers that the current provider does not. In addition, we also need to know why that something new is better and by what standards. Right now, we only know that there was a consumer survey last year that indicated dissatisfaction with the current satellite provider. If we have an idea of what Techcorporation offers, we would need some items approving of it, such as a survey or testimonials from other consumers or engineers. This would augment the fact that Techcorporation offers something new--and that something new makes Techcorporation a better choice for satellite television.

We need to know whether the newsletter and/or its writers have any affiliation with Techcorporation. As it stands, we are just told that it "is our top pick for investment this term." However, if we know that the writers own stock in Techcorporation, then we know that they are biased; they are advising clients to invest in something that they will be affected by. In other words, they are writing venally; they will profit by these clients' investments. Knowing such would invalidate their advice.

The authors of this newsletter state that this is the first time in ten years that a company has developed satellite technology to compete with the current satellite provider. That is a heavy, and questionable, statement. Are there other companies that developed similar satellite technology but were just ignored? If there are, then why did clients not invest in their technology? Touching on the whether Techcorporation offers something unique and distinctive, knowing whether there were providers that offered similar technology implies that Techcorporation's technology is no more unique and therefore decreases its value.

This newsletter comes across as omniscient of this satellite technology market--and unreasonably so. Stating that Techcorporation offers better technology, better than other companies, we are made to believe that these clients should invest in Techcorporation. Additionally, we can term the newsletter's writers' omniscience as "biased"; they only speak faithfully in the company because they, for all we know, may benefit graciously from investments, more so than the clients who would be doing the investments. Having a better idea of what this market looks like and who the stakeholders are will better help us decide on how reasonable their advice is.