The following appeared in a newsletter published by the Appleton school district.

"In a recent study more than 5,000 adolescents were asked how often they ate meals with their families. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Furthermore, according to the same survey, teens who reported having the most family meals per week were also the ones least likely to have tried illegal drugs, tobacco, and alcohol. Family meals were also associated with lower rates of problems such as low grades in school, low self-esteem, and depression. We therefore recommend that families have as many meals together as possible. We predict that doing so will greatly benefit adolescents and turn troubled teens away from bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss which questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to newsletter published by the Appleton school district, it states that having many meal together with family will greatly benefit adolescents and turn troubled teen away from bad behaviour. Additionally, they support this argument by stating that the result of survey which is conducted with 5,000 adolescents. Those who take meal with family stay away from illegal drugs, tobacco and alcohol. However, before this recommendation can consider as a true some question must be answered.

Firstly, do you think survey which was carried out was sufficient to draw this conclusion? Maybe, 5,000 adolescents were not sufficient to carry out this survey or survey which was carried out was in the less crowded area which brings this conclusion. If this turns out to be true than I think we cannot consider this up shot true. Maybe, if this survey was carried out at large scale than outcome may be differ.

Secondly, What if adolescents stay away from his/her parents? Or what if adolescents taking meal with the family still drink or smoke? In this case this survey turns out to be false. Tough taking drugs is illegal, it depends on the family background. If we assume that adolescents family drink, smoke and take drugs than there are pretty high chances that adolescents will also start doing the same. I think that this all depends on the teaching of child’s parents, if a child is grown with lots of love and care he/she will not follow such dark path.

Finally, do adolescents grades in school or low self-esteem, and depression have to do anything with family meal? Maybe, his/her intellectual level is low which is causing problem with his/her study which result in low grades. Depression can be caused by many ways so do self-esteem. Maybe, talking about his/her depression over a meal is not the perfect place this will only increase his/her depression as his/her all negative points will be discussed over a meal. If this turns out to be true in most cases than conclusion drawn from the survey is false.

In conclusion, if all question above are answer than it will strengthen the argument and maybe we can draw conclusion that survey which is drawn is perfect.