The following appeared in a newspaper article about law firms in the city of Megalopolis.

In Megalopolis, the number of law school graduates who went to work for large, corporate firms declined by 15 percent over the last three years, whereas an increasing number of graduates took jobs at small, general practice firms. Even though large firms usually offer much higher salaries, law school graduates are choosing to work for the smaller firms most likely because they experience greater job satisfaction at smaller firms. In a survey of first-year students at a leading law school, most agreed with the statement that earning a high salary was less important to them than job satisfaction. This finding suggests that the large, corporate firms of Megalopolis will need to offer graduates more benefits and incentives and reduce the number of hours they must work.

It is stated that the large cap companies in Megalopolis should improve their working policies in order to attract candidates from universities. This conclusion is based on the decrease of the number of graduates in large and corporate firms, a higher level of job satisfaction in small, general practice firms by a survey from a group of first year students. However, before this recommendation is properly evaluated, three problems should be elucidate.

First of all, the decline of 15% of the proportion of law school candidates who worked for big and corporate companies and the contrast trend in small companies in three consecutive years does not mean that there is lack of preference to work in big companies. One of the reasons is that there is less career opportunities in these companies, then the percentage of graduates working in big corporations could witness the gradual decrease. Further, candidates also can require passing the entrance test. As the result, the number of graduates working in big companies is limited, while it is likely to be easier to work in small companies. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly hampered.

Secondly, the results in the surveillance based on first year students can be not strong enough to extrapolate, generalize and predict about the graduates. There are many distinct characteristics and differences between freshmen and graduates. For example, many first-year students want to follow their career based on job satisfaction, while it is more realistic for graduates to work in big companies with a higher level of salary to pay their loans and make ends meet. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, there is no reason to assert that workers in large companies do not gain more many benefits, incentives, and job satisfaction than those of small companies. In fact, large companies usually provide many supports for their employees as well as higher salary. Moreover, employees in these companies also have more opportunities to broaden their horizon by working in many positions and places. In various situations, it is quite difficult for small companies to attract candidates due to challenges about work environment and job satisfaction. These reasons can damage substantially the credibility of the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can resolve these problems above and offer more evidence, then it will be fully possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to give more benefits and incentives and reduce working time in big corporations.