The following appeared as a part of an advertisement for Adams, who is seeking reelection as governor:

“Reelect Adams, and you will be voting for proven leadership in improving the state’s economy. Over the past year alone, 70 percent of the state’s workers have had increases in their wages, 5,000 new jobs have been created, and six corporations have located their headquarters here. Most of the respondents in a recent poll said they believed that the economy is likely to continue to improve if Adams is reelected. Adams’s opponent, Zebulon, would lead our state in the wrong direction, because Zebulon disagrees with many of Adams’s economic policies.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The advertisment for Adams reelection campaign says that the people should reelect Adam because under his leadership 70% of state workes have had increased wage, 5000 new jobs were created and six cooperation located their headquater there. It also says that Zebulon would lead the state in the wrong direction because he disagrees with adam on the economic policies. The argument is not will reasoned and has many flaws as we will discuss.

Firstly, the advertisment talk only about the positive things about Adam, hence giving only a partial one sided view. To evaluate wheather Adam was a good leader we must have a look at the complete picture. We should not only evaluate what he did well but also evaluate his shorcomings and then weigh the positives and negative to evaluate him as a cantidate. For example it is possible that although the states economy did well under his leadership but social programmes, infrastucture were very lacking. Also it might been possible the under his leadership goverment offices was plagued by many corrution cases. If these are true then it would make him undisirable candidate for the governor of the state.

Secondly, It is mentioned that seventy percent of state worker have had increased wage but it doesn't mention how much the increase was. It is possible that there only a minor increase in the wage of the workers not enough to keep up with the inflation, hence leaving most of the workers worse of than before with quality of living declining for most of the workers.

Thirdly, It mentions creation of 5000 new jobs and six copeartion headqueaters in favor of Adam. However to evaluate this we need to know if the unemployment rate has gone up or down. For example it is possible that in the state there were 100,000 new people entring the workforce that year but only 5000 new jobs were created which was not sufficient and hence the unemployment rate actualy increased.

Forthly, It claims that because Zebulon is doesn't agree with Adam on ecnomic policies it means that he is leading the state in the wrong direction. It is wrong beacuse it would imply that Adam's economic policy is the best that any other policy would be wrong for the economy. It is very well possible that during Adams Leadership the economy was in a booming phase and Adam didn't have good policies, which if he had would have resulted in the state benifiting much more from the Boom.

Finally to evaluate the information presented in the advertisment we would have to know the changes under Adams leadership in unemployment rate, change in quality of living of workers and the change in economic mertics of comparable states. With these information we can better evalute the argument presented in the Advertisment.