The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be end up being true that businesses should only hire people that who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night, the author does not provide a cogent and nuanced argument to support this position.

By drawing his conclusion solely from the results of a survey, the author assumes that the 300 executives surveyed are representative of the entire population and business world in its entirety. There are a few problems with this assumption. First, compared to the entire population and business world, a sample size of 300 is small and in this case biased as well. Only executives from one industry were included in this sample. The author’s conclusion refers to the business world in general, but maybe it should be narrowed to only the advertising industry. People who end up becoming executives could also just inherently be extremely hard workers, and this diligence is the actual for their success as opposed to sleeping less. Furthermore, only focusing on executives ignores all of the other employees of a company that are essential to its success. To correct for these issues, a more in-depth survey should be conducted with a much larger sample that includes a significantly more diverse sample of people across a wide variety of industries and job types.

Another flawed assumption the author makes is equating an “association” with causation. Despite the narrow scope of this survey discussed above, the results only show an “association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms”. A crucial tenet of statistical analysis is that correlation does not imply causation. It is very possible that out of these 300 advertising executives surveyed, the majority, say 200, successful executives average less than 6 hours of sleep per night. However, that still leaves 100 successful executives who averaged more than 6 hours of sleep per night. Clearly, is not essential for hiring process to exclusively focus on candidates who need less than sleep than 6 hours of sleep per night.

Furthermore, the author’s assumption of causation leads to an extreme conclusion as the word “only” indicates. There is rarely just one path to success, so the author should focus on identifying other common traits of employees that help a business succeed. Businesses seem to be making a concerted effort to hire more diverse staffs, realizing that an increase in diversity leads to more unique perspectives that can help a company grow.

It is certainly tempting to conclude that sleeping less and working more hours will lead to greater success, yet a more detailed analysis reveals that this conclusion is over-simplified.