The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument which has been stated if flawed for a numerous reasons, It assumes that the number of hours of sleep is the sole factor that is determining the productivity of employees in these advertising firms.

The arguments fails to provide any proof whatsoever that the number of hours of sleep is the only factor determining the output of the employees of these firms. Hard work, Soft skills and efficiency play a vital role in the daily output as well. Had the argument mentioned that the number of hours of sleep is absolutely vital and the sole cause for growth, The conclusion based on the premises would be justified.

Moreover, This argument assumes that the entire target pool of candidates that are within the domain of needing less than 6 hours of sleep per night are relevant to the advertising companies requirement, They may sleep lesser than other individuals but if they do not have any experience or basic knowledge about the advertising sector, Hiring them would be absolutely redundant. Had it been mentioned that the pool of candidates would only consist of people who have advertising relevant skills and sleep less than 6 hours a day, The argument would be more compelling.

Another assumption is the fact that the working hours of these advertising companies is during the regular day hours, It's ambiguous whether the companies mentioned in the aforementioned argument are following regular day hours or are working late into the night or maybe working only at night, Any discrepancy here which is working late or late into the night could render the argument completely invalid. The argument should have mentioned whether the current pool data is solely from day shifts or whether its a mixture of employees working at variable timings so that we could get a better picture while analyzing it.

Because this argument makes a good number of unwarranted assumptions, We can conclude that they strategy will fail to pan out if a company employs this without doing enough research.