The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the situation presented, a study was done on advertising executives to see if there was a correlation between the success of the business and the amount of hours slept. The author states that those who reposted needing 6 hours or less of sleep a night had higher statistics, thereby coming to the conclusion that to have a prosperous business, employees should only need 6 hours of sleep, maximum, a night. This argument at hand is unsubstantiated and contains many weak assumptions, which prove the claims to be unwarranted.

The recent “study” that was done was not explained at all in the argument above. There is no description as to how data was collected. The author assumes that the statistics are all true and correct. Was a survey given out to the subjects of the study? If so, the data collected self reported and is based on how truthful the executives were with their answers. However, many executives may have exaggerated their success rates to seem superior to others. If a thorough explanation as to how the study was performed had been included in the statement, the author may have had a stronger argument.

Based on the study done on the executive members, it was concluded that those who needed no more than 6 hours of sleep had higher profit margins and faster growth. However, the author fails to identify whom they are comparing. The author would be comparing the success of those who needed 6 hours of sleep with those who needed 4 hours of sleep. The assumption is unclear as to which two groups are being contrasted. For a stronger, more compelling argument, the author would have stated that the group was being compared to those who slept for more than 6 hours.

The author makes a generalization that if a business wants to prosper, then only people who need 6 hours or less of sleep a night should be hired. Assuming that the information collected from the study held some merit to it, the study was done only on advertising executives. The author, again, makes an assumption that all business will succeed if they hire those who sleep less. For example, if a business required workers to be alert and focused at all times, individuals who sleep for no more than 6 hours will be detrimental to the success of the company. In order for this generalization to be valid, the author must specify that advertising businesses should hire those who sleep less than 6 hours.

Arguably, the study does show some correlation between those who sleep 6 hours or less and higher profit margins and faster growth. However, due to the lack of strong evidence it is unclear as to what the exact correlation is. This weak evidence results in false assumptions. Ultimately, this argument relies on a poor foundation and can easily be taken apart.