The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author recommends that businesses should hire people who need no more than 6 hours of sleep per night only in order to thrive. To support this proposal, the author cites the result of a study of 300 advertising executives which shows that those firms with executives reported needing less than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. However, this argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions which will be discussed below and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

To begin with, the author does not provide any information concerning the sampling methods adopted in the survey. Unless the surveyors sampled a sufficient number of subjects and did so randomly across the entire spectrum, the survey results are not reliable to gauge the relationship between sleeping hours and business’s prosperity generally. For example, if the sample did not include those who sleep more than 6 hours while leading a successful business, then the results would no doubt suggest that companies whose executives sleep less than 6 hours have higher margins and faster growth.

Even assuming the survey result is sound, no evidence is given to substantiate the claim that less sleep contributes to business success. If those executives are having less sleep for personal reasons, for example, they spend the time on some recreational activities, or the executives actually work less effectively during the days because of shorter sleeping time, it seems untenable to conclude that less sleep could contribute to better performance of business.

What’s more, the author does not rule out other factors that might be influencing the organization’s profit margins and growth. It is entirely possible that those firms having a better performance locate in areas that are in nature more prosperous than others. Or perhaps the firms implement some policies that lead to better results. Many factors contribute to the performance of a company and it is unfair to conclude that shorter sleeping hours has direct link with business success without addressing those factors.

Finally, even if the survey is credible, the survey included only executives and hence the conclusion cannot necessarily be applied to other employees. Perhaps employees need more sleep in order to stay active and efficient at work. Insufficient sleep could potentially lead to higher error rates, which would by no means benefit the company. And the survey took into account advertising firms only, so it cannot be generalized to all businesses. Situations vary from industries to industries.

In sum, only if the author provides clear evidence that less than 6 hours of sleep, and not some other reasons, was in fact responsible for the prosperity of the business and that this could be applied to all employees in all companies could I be convinced that his recommendation is reliable.