The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The relation between sleep hours and work efficiency is a topic widely debated. On one hand, studies dictate that sleeping a small amount of hours is better for your professional life. Another school of thought supports the idea that we need at least eight hours of sleep for our body and mind work appropriately. In the preceding article, the author claims that executives which need no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth inside advertising firms. Though his claim may well have merit, the author presents a poorly reasoned argument, based on several questionable premises and assumptions. Regarding solely on the evidences the article offers, we cannot accept the argument as valid. Hence, its conclusion is weak and unconvincing, with several flaws.

The primary issue with the author’s reasoning lies in his unsubstantiated premises. The article cites the surveys of Mentian advertising executives as the basis of the argument that hours of sleep are directly related to to success of their firms. However, the scope and validity of the survey is at issue. The author does not give any indication as to the real reasons for which the surveys were conducted. For instance, the survey could have asked people that have extremes working hours. If someone works more than 16 hours a day, probably he/she will sleep less than six hours per day and his/her firm will be successful due to the exploration of its employees. Also, the sample may not be representative of the executives, asking only Mentian advertising executes. Unless the survey is truly representative, it cannot be used by the author to effectively back his statements. Therefore, the author’s premises lack any legitimate evidentiary support and thereby render his conclusion unacceptable.

In addition, the author makes several assumptions that remain unproven. The author implies that people who sleep more than six hours are unsuccessful and will never make a business to prosper. However, the article fails to provide proof of the fact that many CEO’s such as Bill Gates and Steve Jobs admittedly presented in their biographies that they had a normal life, sleeping more than eight hours per day as the majority of the society. The author wrongly assumes that companies should only hire who need less than six hours of sleep per night. This assumption may fail if they based the admission process evaluation the applicant’s skills and having a team that help to prosper the company instead of a bunch of random people which sleeps few hours per day. The author weakens his arguments by making assumptions and failing to provide explication of the links between the hours of sleep and professional skills he assumes exists.

While the argument has key issues in the premises and assumptions, it is not to say that the entire argument is without a base. For example, the author could have done a real experiment hiring people with equal professional background but with a big discrepancy in hours of sleep and prove that the claim is true. He could also states how the working hours or other further parameters affects the employees hours of sleep and the company prosperity. Though there are several issues with the author’s reasoning at present, with research and clarification, he could improve his argument significantly.

In sum, the article’s illogical argument is based on unsupported premises and unsubstantiated assumptions that render his conclusion invalid. The author needs to revisit the research and analysis done for advertising executives and refine the suggestion proposed by him. If the author truly hopes to change the reader’s mind, he would have to largely restructure his arguments, fix the flaws in his logic, clearly explicate his assumptions and provide evidentiary support. Without these, his poorly reasoned argument is unlikely to convince many people.