"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. "

Write a response in which you examine the stated and / or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument seems plausible ant first but it actually is specious on meticulous analysis. Conclusion made is based on unwarranted assumptions which ultimately have weakened the argument. To strengthen the argument, three question based on the assumptions must be answered.

Firstly, how the conclusion is made based upon the only one study? What if the study was done by the survey and questionnaire of the survey had options related to sleeping hour only? The argument based on a single study might fail if another study resulted opposite the the study based on which conclusion is made. Hence, this assumption weakens the argument.

Secondly, was the sample advertising firm studied represented whole advertising firm? What if the executives sleeping more than 6 hours but had very high profit were not included in the study? Without knowing the number of advertising firms studied, making any conclusion ultimately weaken the argument .

Finally, how would the hiring committee know about how many hours the people to be hired sleep? Nobody will say that I am lazy and I sleep more than 6 hours a day in a job interview. So, is this the effective measure to know how faster growth of the company is achieved? There might be other measures to prosper the business instead of sleeping hour which would strengthen he argument.

In conclusion, the argument is based on many unwarranted assumptions and unsubstantiated conclusion. So, conclusion should be made after the rigorous study of causes of faster growth of the advertising firm not based on the single study. Also, answering above questions would strengthen the argument .