The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A leader of the country is called successful only when he is able to lead the country achieving the objectives set by him during his tenure. I concede that the effective leader of the country is one who confirm the well being of the country's citizens but not the one who is well himself. measuring the well being of the citizen is important to determine a leader successful because of following three reasons.

Firstly, in most of the nations, leaders like a polotician, bussinessman or any one leading the institution or the country are found successful, living high standard life, indulging in oppulence but the this does not make the leader successful in actuality. For example, during the rule of Rana regime in Nepal, The ruler family, used to be very rich with high standard of living but actually the most of the citizens in the country were suffering from poverty.

Secondly, leader is the representative of the country globally, his charactersitics are related to the country as a whole but he might not actually represent the diversed citizens in the country. As an example a random sample to represent a population must be selecetd diversely and must represent whole population, but only the leader of the country can never represent the whole country.

Finally, if the leader is not chosen by any democratic means, he may not be loyal to the citizens in the country. For example in autocratic ruling system like in north Korea, the ruler kim only haS the perquisites of living life of his choise, but every citizen in the country are not able to live their life with freedom. So we cannot say the leader kim successful without knowing about the citizens In north Korea.

Although, there may be some exceptions of being the well being of leader similar as that of the citizen in the country, most of the cases are not as such. In sum, the successful leader is one who confirms the well being of every citizen in the country and measuring the effectiveness of a leader must essentially measure the well being of citizens in the country.