Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to the speaker, formal education do not set our mind and spirit free but restrain. The generalization of the speaker is true in some cases and may not be true for every case. In my opinion, formal education might have some constraints but does not necessarily restrain our mind and spirit for two reasons.

Education is the means to give the life a direction, so does the formal education. The formal education system has abide the system of educating by some rules and regulations. However, being abide by the rules does not necessarily mean having no freedom. Every body has rights to pursue their own interest in life. As an example every school students are not forced to be a doctor, but he or she can pursue any field of study like arts, science or humanities and freely choose to be a dancer, doctor or a politician. Having formal education does not mean to restrain mind or soul.

Moreover, comparing a person with no formal education and had never been to school with a person who had pursued his career with the formal education, the formal seems restrained hid mind rather than the later. Having no formal education in modern era means having less or no opportunity in life.

However, we have some examples in society who have pursued their own interest by abandoning formal education. For example, Bill Gate is an university dropped out and very successful in his life. However, I do not believe that every college dropping student is successful in their life, people like bill gates, Steve Jobs are only exception. Also, if they had completed their university degree they might have been more successful.

In conclusion, having formal education binds a person in some rules and regulations but does not necessarily restrain our mind and soul. Every body in formal education system have their freedom to give their life any direction of their interest.