A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

In formal education system, every student is guided by the teacher and evaluated by their performance in examination. To evaluate every student effectively, same national curriculum throughout the country is effective. I concede the nation should have same national curriculum until they enter college for two reasons, but also have some flexibility for the local curriculum.

Same national curriculum throughout the country results homogeneity in the learning within the country. Every student is taught with same curriculum and gets evaluated by the same curriculum. The grades obtained by the students are based on the evaluation of the same curriculum and is not prejudiced. As an example two student if have been evaluated by different curriculum, one for cultural heritages and another for modern science, then both having good grades cannot be compared because of the difference in their curriculum.

Curriculum is the basis for what the student must be taught, and it must be formulated based on various factors. The curriculum must be up to date with the modern education system and must be abreast to the newly developed facts and informations in each subjects like science, managements or arts but should not be formulated based on the local political or any other kind of prejudice. The curriculum must not be free to be formulated by the local people as their wish, instead the authority should have control over the national curriculum.

However, some local curriculums are very important to be incorporated in the local community. For example, the local traditions and culture of the Mitthila culture in Province 3 in Nepal, local community must be taught to the new generation. It must be done by including the local culture in the curriculum. If the new generation is completely unaware about their history, culture, norms, mores and tradition, then those values will get extinct.

In sum, a nation should have same basic national curriculum until the student enter college throughout the country, but the locally very important subjects must be incorporated in the local curriculum as per the requirement.