Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The business manager of the television station has made conclusion based on various unwarranted assumptions. The argument seems plausible at a glance but the meticulous analysis makes the argument specious for three reasons.

Firstly, the argument states that over the past year, most of the complaints from the viewer's were about the coverage of weather and local news but may be the complaints regarding weather and local news was done by the single viewer various time. Might be most of the viewer prefer national news to the local news and weather and complaints made by single person various time can not be generalized as the complaints from various viewers.

Secondly, the manager states that various advertising contracts were cancelled but do not provide enough information about the cause of cancellation of the contract, instead speculate the cause might be the coverage of local news and weather. This speculation can not be substantiated with the information provided in the argument. The cancellation might have been done because of the low advertising cost in another television station and not as the speculation made by the manager and national news broadcasting has no any role in the cancellation of the contract. This ultimately undermine the argument.

Finally, the manager states that by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news, more viewer will be attracted but what if the viewer wants to view music and movies more than the news and weather? If so, then no viewer will be attracted to view either the local news or the national news.

In conclusion, the argument is fallacious with many holes in it. The manager should have provided enough information regarding the causes of less viewers and also cancellation of the advertising contracts. And should not come to conclusions based on his own speculations rather than the rigorous study based on those causes. Thus, the argument is based on unwarranted assumptions and unsubstantiated conclusion and to bolster the argument enough evidences must be provided.