The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Above argument seems plausible but meticulous analysis of the argument makes the argument specious. The measure to reduce the moped accidents by comparing to the another island undermine the conclusion for three reasons.

Firstly, the reason of the accidents in not mentioned in the argument. Population is said to be increased and accidents involving moped and pedestrian is to be decreased. What if the accident is due to high speed of mope and not hence can not be reduced by reducing the number of moped? There is no clarity in causes of accident which undermine the argument.

Secondly, the reduction from island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day is the measure to reduce accidents. What if the number of moped rental companies in the town increased to 10 since the population is going to increase in summer and is higher scope op moped rental companies in the town? The measure to reduce accident seems vague and specific effective measure to reduce accident based on its cause should be mentioned to strengthen the argument.

Finally, speaker mentions the neighboring island of Torseau had 50% reduction last year and hence similar achievement will be gained by Balmer island. This assumption is unwarranted and weaken the argument. May the island of Torseu had accidents due to large number of moped and reducing number of moped resulted decrease in accidents. It may not be same case in Balmer island, it may highly differ from Torseu island. Moreover, if the reduction in number of moped resulted decrese in accidents in Balmer island, how can it have same reduction as that in island of Torseau?

In conclusion, the speaker have made unsubstantiated conclusion based on various unwarranted assumptions. To bolster the argument the causes of the accident must be mentioned, the measures to reduce accidents must have clarity and comparison with another island must be done based on the similarity between them. The unwarranted assumption have weaken the argument.