The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument stated information regarding a letter to editor of the Balmer Island Gazette, mentioning that reducing the limit of rental Mopeds will reduce the accidents. The argument is rife with assumptions and not provided supporting evidence to draw any claim. The argument is not sufficient to make cogent case for claiming that reducing limit of rental mopeds will reduce the accidental risk in the town.

First of all, in the beginning the argument provided the data of population increase by 100,000 during summer months in Balmer Island. This information is insufficient to provide the data regarding the accidental increase in the town. The new born will take years to get a driving license, that is why this is incomplete information to show the reason of town council's decision.

Secondly, if the accident rate is high in the town, how rental mopeds on-road are main target of reduction. The rising accidents can be due to other vehicles as well like cars, motorbikes etc. It can also be due to driver's negligence. The author did not provide supporting evidence to show the impact of Mopeds on accidents and how reducing rental Mopeds will reduce the overall rate of accidents.

Since, it is mentioned that Torseau Island enforced that same law and reduce the limit of rentals which results into reduced Mopeds accidents cannot take into consideration the accidental problem of the Balmer island. First of all, both cities can be different in terms of area, population, drivers and driving laws. The law was enforced last year in Torseau island and this year scenario might have been changed. Another reason is, Balmer isalnd may be facing accidents other than Mopeds also. The argument is unable to support this idea of reduction in accidents.

Therefore, the argument is unable to provide the valid evidence to claim that reducing the limit of Mopeds will also reduce the Balmer island's accident rate. To strengthen the argument, the author would have been benefited by providing the supporting evidence of type of accidents happening in Balmer island and considering the issue collectively to draw any claim of reduction of accidents.