: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

I don’t believe in being jack of all but master of none, instead I prefer studying single subject being more focused in it. I disagree with the author’s view for two reasons but still not completely dissonant with his view.

Studying in university is not like studying in a primary school. In former a student is enrolled to study specific subject of his interest, so the student obviously like to pursue his interest more than any other field. A student in a medical field should not be forced to study literature. So the students must be focused on studying course of their interest.

Furthermore, time is very important because time and tides waits for no man. When a student loss his valuable time in varieties of courses, he can never give his all efforts to the course of his interest. His time must be equally divided to each courses and pursuing his interest is not prioritized. He might contribute a lot to the society, if he had opportunity to focus only on the subject of his interest.

Nonetheless, some fields of study are interrelated, these related courses are important to be studied. For example, study of statistics is very important in every field of study and needs to be studied by any field of study. An agriculture student should study it as agriculture statistics whereas a medical student should study it as a medical statistics. Though the subject is same, they should pursue this type of courses as relevant to their own interested subjects.

In conclusion, the university student should study varieties of subject relevant to the field of their study but not outside the subject of their study. Studying subjects of their interest is fruitful but the courses outside the subjects of their study are burden to them and do not add in their major field of study.