5.Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Knowledge accumulated around the civilization is now converging. A lot of universities required students to take courses that are different from their majors. In my personal perspective, I think it is extremely important to ask people to take other courses besides their field of study since many fields now have shared knowledge accross them, or on field borrowing knowledge from another. By taking the courses other than their majors will help people open their mind, and improve their critical thinking ability, and will also help the student determine whether the major is suitable for their future.

First of all, being able to take some courses that was not required by their major will developed the student's abilities of thinking from different respects. For example, plastic surgeons are encouraging to taking psychology classes for providing better caring for their patients. There are a lot of patients want to improve their outlook not because they need to. they are just don't have enough self-confidence. if the doctors are able to notice the reason that the patients need the surgery is more psychology than physically, he might be able to provide a better treatment for his patients.

Other than the reason above, taking different classes will improve students' critical thinking abilities. Though the university student is considered to be a matured human being, there are a myriad of things that they should learn before stepping into the world of corporations- or academia for that matter. The students may have not developed these basic skills in their primary and secondary education. In such a situation, it would be undesirable for the semi matured student to be highly specified in a field, who lacks general skills to thrive in the industry. For example, an engineering student, who have followed a stream of education heavily focusing on pure math and science, may not cover the fundamentals of management and soft skills needed to the level that the contemporary industry expect from a potential employee. In such a situation, requiring the student to follow key management courses would help the student to initiate and harness those skills. Here, "requiring" the student is important because the student may not know the importance due to lack of industry exposure.

Some people may argue that no courses should be required unless such courses are beneficia for students’ future jobs. In fact, many course outside one’s discipline can be helpful for students’ career development. Writing-intensive courses in history and philosophy, for example, can help business students to sharpen their writing skills, which are essential for effective communication in any jobs they may take. As there are more and more gray areas being created between seemingly incompatible fields of studies, knowledge on other courses from significantly different to one's field of study would improve the chances of success of the student in his/her profession. On the other hand, it is rather short-sighted to focus on the direct benefits for jobs that students may gain from courses. After all, universities are not merely vocational training schools. Students should be encouraged to pursue goals that are not career-oriented. In conclusion, it is important to give student an opportunity to try different classes and help students to find their favorite classes.

In the modern world flexibility is a key factor. Variety of course modules, aside from their field of study would help students achieve this advantages. Therefore, I believe that requiring students to take courses outside their fields is beneficial for their academic studies as well as their career development.