Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the educational system must play a role in determining students’ future educational choices. Indisputably, educational institutions can understand and observe the student up closely. Nevertheless, these institutions should not put off student’s desires and motivation to pursue a particular field of study. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the statement that the responsibility of dissuading students from achieving their educational goals should be within the educational institution, and would argue that the educational system should not intervene in their students’ choices.

First, educational system’s roles are not only defined in teaching new knowledge but also to be an inspirational place for students to evolve, to build their character, and to have spread their interest. Education departments should be based on principles of self-development, motivation and positive attitude. Teachers, school counselors and other faculties encounter thousands of students every year, who are emerging from diverse realities and mentalities, and dreaming to become significant individuals in the society. Educational systems should embrace them, not discourage them.

Second, peoples’ personalities, traits, behavior and intelligence are changeable and always dynamic as they grow and in reactance to environmental demands and needs. For example, the famous scientist Einstein, whose had seriously communication and learning problems during his childhood did not indicative of a lack of intelligence. Similarly, the case with intelligence, research in validating different intelligence and IQ tests has shown that as they aged, people get smarter, their common knowledge is broader and their attention gets better. For that reason, schools and universities should believe in their students’ process and help them fulfill their full potentials in every step of the way.

Finally, opposite opinions of this matter would raise the fact that some students’ dreams and goals are not in accordance with their capacities, so that educational systems as being part of society should address those students and mold them to fit societal needs and expectations, so as to improve employment difficulties due to their poor academic performances. Although this opinion has some valid points, the question remains is what kind of society are we expecting? America is a society focused on training diverse people, not a factory that try to build robots without their self-awareness. It is biased to urge educational institutions to predict the future of students based on educators’ experiences.

In conclusion, for educational systems to lead students for better and compatible options in academic studies, it could be a place where different options are presented to fit the student’s personality, abilities, traits and conditions, but never abuse its power to turnover whatever hope relies within each student. In fact, leading students to understand better themselves and the academic subjects that are most suitable for their ambitions would lead to the best outcomes individually and socially.