Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals are basically uncovering of truth about the events either unknown or believed to be different than they actually are. The statement contends that scandals are useful as they are better in polarizing our attention on issues than any speaker or reformer. This hypothesis relies on our past experiences of infamous scandals and the consequent shifting of the focus of the masses on issues rarely discussed before. However, a deep analysis of the consequences of the scandals would prove that the claimed in its entirety is specious.

Foremost, the ability of scandals in shifting the focus of the people is dependent upon their background. Every individual has different level of awareness about the problems engulfing the society. For those who are sincerely aware about the social issues, e.g. political, social or human rights activist, don't need any external stimulus to make them more focused. On the contrary, for the people with limited awareness, scandals have a greater potential than any speakers or reformers in polarizing their attention to problems which they have so far been inattentive to. This majority, in general, have a tendency of not giving thoughts to social issues either due to their perceived inability to change things around, or in an attempt to avoid augmenting of already existing high levels stress due to personal life issues. When outrageous scandals, such as ‘#meetoo’ and Abu Ghuraib, come to the fore, the conscience of the general masses are shaken which forces them to take a stand and raise a voice on the issue - albeit temporarily.

Yet, despite this attention focusing potential, the usefulness of scandals is limited. It varies from being an instigator for a mass protest, like one relating to sexual violence, to just being a topic of dinner conversation - an example being celebrity sex-tapes. The former may galvanize a mass protest and pressurizes the concerned authorities to take bold steps and even draft stricter laws. However, after that sudden temporary outburst people resume their daily chores even though the problem may still be existing. But since there is no media coverage or hype, there is no scandal, and therefore no mass agitations. In some cases, the problem becomes a new normal when people get fed up with the recurrence of one scandal after the other. The brutal 2012 Delhi Rape and murder scandal is a telling example. This lead to a spate of public protests across India and forced the government to enact new stricter laws on sexual assault including capital punishment. But then when the tempers were calmed down, incidents of sexual violence continued throughout the length and breadth of the country but apparently got accepted as an unchangeable scenario.

Moreover, though scandals may catalyze the Justice process in some specific cases but can never eradicate the problem from its root. Considering the previous examples, while the '#metoo' scandal deterred the culprits and in some cases led to prosecution; it didn't solve the problem of workplace sexual violence. Similarly, the Abu Ghuraib scandal did help the victims to get the justice but was not enough to completely address the general issue of modern war crimes. To address the problem at its core, long-term focus and struggles are required in contrast to short-term focus and some sporadic protests which the scandals facilitate. This can only be achieved through the laborious perseverance of reformers and speakers. It is for this reason that no parallel can be drawn between the success of King’s or Mandela’s movements and the Rodney King or George Floyd’s scandal in securing the civil rights of the Blacks.

In the final analysis, while scandals do help to shift the attention of, otherwise indifferent, majority of the people; that attention and its benefits are short-lived and limited. Eradicating pressing issues from their roots have always warranted long-term struggles and constant focus which are only achievable through the sustained efforts of speakers and reformers.