To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement interlinks the social investigations with the study of its major cities. The most important characteristic of a society include its political activities, economic structure, and popularization of technology. In my humble opinion, we should not arbitrary focus our attention only on these metropolitan areas because the economic, political, technology structure differ greatly among major cities and rural areas.

The political system of a society is often shaped by the economic and technology dynamics of local communities as well as nation as a whole. To testify that the politics is influenced by national institution such as the Constitution, it is sufficient to study how people in the major cities are involved in political activities. To understand the presidential election of the US, for example, one can followed the presidential candidate as they tour the major cities during their campaigns and investigate how the city residents make their decisions regarding the different candidates and how they think about the major issues covered in the debate among the candidates. Nevertheless, an important dimension of the the modern society is the diversity of political activities one can observe in the local communities. Voters in a small village in a Southern United States may think very differently about a particular issue compared to voters in New York. Therefore, to full understand the politic of the society, we have to study the rural area and small towns as well.

In addition to political system, economic development is another aspect one should not overlook in order to understand the society. Usually the major cities reflects the economic and social development at a faster pace, compared to rural areas or suburbs. To understand the economics of a society, one needs to study how the financial industries operate in such major cities. On the other hand, small villages and counties also play vital roles in the national economy with their contribution to difference economic sectors such as agriculture and tourism.

Finally, to understand a society, we need to look into how technologies are used among the people. To do that, we should not only to have investigation among major cities but also study the rural areas and small towns because the level of technology in the society indirectly represents the strength of education and the speed of economic development in that specific region.

Therefore, studying the major cities alone is not sufficient to fully understand the economy of the entire society.