Essay topics: "Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty.

In the letter from the homeowner to a friend, he suggests that if his friend wants to sell his house quickly and at a good price, he should prefer Adams Realty to Fitch Realty based on various unwarranted assumptions. His recommendation seems plausible at a glance but is fallacious on meticulous analysis.

Firstly the number of real estate agents Adams has is stated as 40 and Fitch as 25, many of them working part time. Based on this we cannot say that the Adams is more effective. What if being only 25 real estate agent though, more of them working part time, are more effective than the 40 real estate agents in Adams realty? Also, the average revenue compared among two realties seems fallacious. What if the average revenue of Adam’s includes more numbers of houses sold at lower price than average price whereas Fitch Realty had sold few houses at very low prices and hence the average value of revenue comes out to be lower that Adams.

Secondly, the homeowner’s experience of selling house 10 years ago may not work for the current situation. What if the Fitch Realty then is not same as that now? What if it has been more efficient, diligent and effective now? These questions seriously undermine the homeowner’s conclusion.

Thirdly, if in the last year homeowner had listed his home to be sold in Fitch Realty, it might have sold his house in lesser than a month. Even if Adams Realty had sold his house at good price and efficiently by Adam a year ago, how would he confidently recommend his friend to get good price and work will be done by Adam efficiently? What if the Adam Realty degraded within a year?

In sum, the recommendation of the homeowner is based on unwarranted assumptions and unsubstantiated conclusion. To strengthen his conclusion, questions above must be answered and more rigorous study must be done to make the conclusion and recommendation.