Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

The effectiveness of a political leader can not be measured by any specific criteria. However, the political leader with strong political achievement is generally found to have worked in favor of the public, guided by the public opinion. I concede that effective political leaders must yield to public opinion for two reasons.

The political leader in democracy is chosen by election, which includes the votes of majority of the people. People votes one political leader with whom their political belief matches. So, if the political leader has different view than majority of public, he might not win the election. After wining the election if the political leader has different principle, then the public oppose the leadership and ultimately he must yield upon the public. For example in many countries revolution by the citizen have ended monarchy system, ultimately the leader had to succumb with the public opinion against monarchy.

Moreover, the autocratic ruler who impose his own principle to the public is not found effective throughout the history. As an example, Hitler though had not relinquished his principle and lead the war is not actually successful and effective political leader. In present day also, the autocratic leader Kim in North Korea can never be said to be effective, because the public in his country are not obviously satisfied with his principle and cannot raise voice against his leader.

However, in some cases the principle of the political leader might be effective one though contradicting with the public. In this case I believe the opinion of the political leader must not be yielded. For example a political leader is trying to abolish some bad traditions in the society, notwithstanding the belief of the society in that tradition. Then the leader must not relinquish on his principle.

In sum, except some exceptional cases, the majority of the public determines the principle of the political leader and if the leader's principle contradicts the public principle, he must yield to the public opinion in order to be a successful and effective political leader.