The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. "

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation (s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument given seems plausible at a glance however, on meticulous analysis of the argument, it is specious. Based an the unwarranted assumptions, the business manager, made a conclusion that the costumer do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term butter for either butter or margarine. Three questions must be answered in order to strengthen the argument.

Firstly, how many costumers does the Happy Pancake House actually have? Is the number of costumer decreased highly after the change of butter to margarine? The manager does not provide any information on the number of costumer and may be there are only 5 costumers and 1 complained about the replacement. Also, the manager mentions that replacement of butter had little impact on costumer, the term little is vague, which undermine the argument.

Secondly, do all the costumers seem frank? May the costumers have complains in their mind and hesitate to express in words.

We cannot infer that the costumers were happy with the replacement. Do the manager took feedback from the costumer? Have they personally said that they were happy by the replacement? there is no any clue about these questions in the argument making the argument specious.

Finally, do the costumers prefer margarine to butter? They do not complain about the replacement due to their preference of butter to margarine. This does not necessarily mean that the costumer were not able to distinguish butter from margarine, neither it can be concluded that they used the term butter for both butter or margarine.

In sum the argument is based on unwarranted assumptions and unsubstantiated conclusion. No any conclusion should be made without rigorous analysis of the feedback from the costumer. And therefore, to strengthen the argument the manager must answer the above questions which undermined the argument.