In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The argument given seems plausible at a glance but is fallacious on meticulous analysis. The three unwarranted assumptions are the loop holes of the argument undermining the argument.

Firstly, after lowering the speed limit the accidents in Prunty County was not decreased because many drivers are still exceeding the speed limit. The failure of decreasing accidents by this speed limiting strategy is not due to the strategy itself, but because of no strict implementation of the strategy.

Secondly, the road in Prunty county is assumed to decrease accidents if lane width, resurfacing rough highways and improving visibility as in Prunty county, what if the accidents in the Prunty county is only due to the high speed in highway? The reason for the accidents in Prunty County can not be assumed to be due to the width, rough surface and weak visibility.

Thirdly, the Prunty County is expected to be similar as Butler County where 25 % fewer accidents reported assumed to be due to road improvements. What if the rods in Butler County had fewer number of accidents reported also before the road improvement? What if the conditions of Butler County highly differs from that of the Prunty Count?

In conclusion, the argument fails to answer these questions because of the unwarranted assumptions and unsubstantiated conclusion ultimately weakening the argument. Rigorous study of the causes of accidents in Butler County must be done to strengthen the argument.